“Urgent Attention” Email Hoax

Dear Campus Community:

Recently an email message with the subject “Urgent Attention” was delivered to several faculty, staff, and students informing them of a fictitious “HTK4S virus” detected in their email accounts. The message directs you to update your account by clicking on a “Validate” link.

THIS IS A HOAX. Please mark the email as spam and/or delete the message.

If you did happen to click on the “Validate” link and provide your Bucknell username and password, we recommend you IMMEDIATELY change your password by visiting the Bucknell Password Station:

https://ps.bucknell.edu

If you use the compromised password for other on-line services (social networking, banking, etc.) we also recommend you change your password for that service as well.

For future reference:

– If this were an actual situation where we needed you to do something, a message would come from a “real life” staff member at Bucknell (i.e., someone you could look up and find in the directory). It would not come from the “Bucknell Technical Team” (whoever they are).

– You would see the message repeated in the Message Center as well as our System Outage and Alerts status page.

– Even though the authentication page looks similar to our university login page, take note of the URL. “Bucknell.webs.com” is not a valid university web address. Also, any legitimate website requesting password credentials should be preceded by the prefix “https://” indicating a secure connection has been established. Finally, no Bucknell website has a footer at the bottom stating “Build a free website at Webs.com.”

If there is any question in your mind about what to do, please contact Tech Support at techdesk@bucknell.edu or by calling 7-7777. We always close our emails with this contact information and are here to help!

Comments are closed.

Close

Places I've Been

The following links are virtual breadcrumbs marking the 12 most recent pages you have visited in Bucknell.edu. If you want to remember a specific page forever click the pin in the top right corner and we will be sure not to replace it. Close this message.